News and Announcements

News and Announcements

Posted on: May 21, 2019

Sunny days become paddle days at Rueter-Hess Reservoir

Rueter-Hess is open for Paddle Days beginning Memorial Day Weekend

Memorial Day weekend is the unofficial start of summer fun. This year, skip the traditional first dip in the pool and opt for Paddle Days at Rueter-Hess Reservoir. The Town is partnering with the Rueter-Hess Recreation Authority to host several Paddle Days this summer, beginning Memorial Day weekend. 

Rueter-Hess Reservoir is located along Hess Road about 1 mile east of Interstate 25 and Castle Pines Parkway. While the primary purpose of the reservoir is to store and provide safe, clean drinking water, plans have been in the works to include recreational opportunities. The Town hosted five paddle days last year and after positive community feedback, will be hosting 14 more this summer. 

The reservoir will be open from 7:45 a.m. to 1 p.m.:

  • Sunday, May 26
  • Saturday, June 8
  • Saturday, June 15
  • Sunday, June 23
  • Sunday, July 14
  • Saturday, July 20
  • Sunday, July 28
  • Sunday, Aug. 11
  • Saturday, Aug. 17
  • Sunday, Aug. 25
  • Monday, Sept. 2
  • Sunday, Sept. 8
  • Saturday, Sept. 21
  • Sunday, Sept. 22

Bring a canoe, kayak or stand-up paddleboard to explore everything the reservoir has to offer. Rueter-Hess is not currently open to the public, so special programming like Paddle Days is the only way to access the reservoir.

Please keep in mind, all personal watercraft will need to be inspected on site. Additionally, there will be a cost of $10 per non-motorized watercraft, and there will be a limit on the number of watercraft allowed on the reservoir each day. More information and registration is available at CRgov.com/RueterHessRec. Registration is required, as space is limited. 

The Rueter-Hess Recreation Authority has been created to oversee the master planning process and explore possible recreational amenities at the reservoir. The Town, along with the Parker Water and Sanitation District and other regional partners including Douglas County, the cities of Lone Tree and Castle Pines and the Town of Parker, have been partnering in this effort.

Get Town news straight to your inbox. Sign up online at CRgov.com/notifyme, or follow the Town on Facebook (facebook.com/CRgov), Twitter (@CRgov) and LinkedIn (search Town of Castle Rock).

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News and Announcements